Rich Schreckengost

I like shit that lasts.

Shit that lasts: Darn Tough.

Darn Tough socks. More like: I’ll never need to buy another pair of socks again. Almost two years ago, I walked into Wilderness Exchange here in Denver in need of a few things. While browsing and bullshitting with the cool people that work there (take note Neptune), I noticed they had Darn Tough socks on sale. After talking about them for a few minutes, I figured I’d give them a shot. I bought 5 pairs of the same socks, their Hike-Trek Series Cushion 1/4 socks in a merino wool blend. Almost 2 years later, I am still wearing those same 5 pairs of socks.

Image

Darn Tough Socks.

I’m kind of a sock yuppie for a lack of better terms. My feet sweat, a lot, so I only wear merino wool socks. Yes I know that merino isn’t the strongest material out there and it’s kind of expensive, but the shit rocks. It feels good on my feet, it keeps my feet dry, and the best part, the shit doesn’t stink. I’ve tried socks made of Coolmax, garbage. Cotton, don’t get me started on that shit. Nylon…my feet smell bad enough. No need to add to it. The only thing left is merino.

I want my socks to do three things: not stink, keep my feet dry, and last a long time. Darn Tough socks do all three of those things. Others…don’t.

I’ve tried a few different socks made of merino wool and/or a merino wool blend (these brands will be covered in another post later on), and most of them suffer in the durability department. You would think if you paid $15-20 for a pair of socks, you should be able to wear them for at least 2 or 3 months straight without ever taking them off. Not exactly, unless you bought socks from Darn Tough. I’ve had socks start to show wear after a few days. Socks that come from companies that put on their webpage in big print “If, at any time, your (insert product name here) product does not perform to your satisfaction, you may return it to us for replacement or a refund”. And usually when I would complain to the company*, I get asked the same exact questions: What were you doing in them? What shoes were you wearing? And my response would be: Why does that matter? I paid $20 for ONE pair of your socks two weeks ago. I should be able to walk across hot coals, wash, rinse, and repeat. They never think it’s as funny as I do, but I usually get the “you can send them back to this address and we will send you a replacement” comment. Great and all, but why would I want another pair of socks that are just going to fall apart again in two weeks? Doesn’t make sense, does it? Well since buying those five pairs of Darn Tough socks, I’ve only contacted them once. For what you may ask? To show them that finally, after almost 18 months, a pair of their socks were starting to show some wear. Yes, that’s right, I was actually excited about a pair of socks showing some wear. And get this, Darn Tough offered to replace that pair of socks. They didn’t ask me what shoes I was wearing or what I was doing in them, they just said that they would happily replace them. Of course, I said that there was no need, thanked them for great customer service and for making an excellent product and went on with my day.

I’m not bullshitting about how tough these freaking socks are. I don’t change socks everyday. In fact, I probably change socks weekly. I put a pair on, wear them around the house, to the bar, with dress shoes, running shoes, instead of shoes, hiking, running, biking, and walking. And I do all of this in ONE pair of socks. When it comes time to change, they usually are a little stiff, but 1) my feet were kept dry, 2) they didn’t stink, and 3) they never looked like I had them on for a week straight and the stiffness wasn’t anything a quick washing couldn’t fix. Yes people, these socks are that freaking awesome.

So all in all, I suggest if you are in the market for some new socks, get yourself some Darn Tough socks and call your sock shopping done….for the next couple years. They come in all sorts of styles, colors, and materials. I haven’t tried any other socks from Darn Tough besides Hike-Trek Series Cushion 1/4 Sock, but I’m betting the farm that the rest of their socks kick as much ass as these ones do. So go get you some Darn Tough’s, you and your feet will be happy. Oh and one last thing which is super important to me, and should be important to you too: Darn Tough Socks are made here in good ole ‘Merica. That’s right, Made in the U S of A.

http://darntough.com/

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Shit that lasts: Darn Tough.

  1. I forgot to mention what the * is for. If a company posts a “lifetime guarantee” or anything like that, I call them out on that. Say your clothes will last a lifetime, they sure as hell better or I’m going to say something about it.

    Oh, and I paid for these socks with my hard earned money. Darn Tough did not pay me to write this review. Darn Tough didn’t give me free socks and say “write a kick ass review so we can sell more socks”.

Leave a Reply

